State of the Nation: all eyes on President Zuma

17 June 2014

President Jacob Zuma is expected to outline the government’s programme of action for the next five years when he delivers the first State of the Nation address of the new administration in Parliament in Cape Town on Tuesday evening.

The address, starting at 7pm, will be broadcast live on national radio and television, including 60 community radio stations, and streamed live on Parliament’s website – with the public invited to join the conversation on Twitter using @ParliamentofRSA and #SONA2014.

In addition, the Government Communication and Information System (GCIS) will be hosting 50 live viewing events across the country to ensure that all South Africans can follow the address.

Members of the public can expect a number of activities in the build-up to the main event, including information sessions and career exhibitions, at viewing sites in the following local municipalities:

  • Sakhisizwe at Cala
  • Elundini at Mt Fletcher
  • Mhlontlo at Tsilitwa Thusong
  • Matatiele at Mt Hagrieves Senior Secondary School
  • Great Kei at a venue to be confirmed
  • King Williams Town at Bulembu Village
  • Blue Crane at Pearston
  • Greenbushes at Kuyga Community Hall
  • Dihlabeng at Paul Roux CRD Site Hall
  • Lejweleputswa at Boshof High School
  • Maluti a Phofung at Makgolokweng tribal Authority
  • Letsemeng at Jacobsdal
  • Ekurhuleni at Palm ridge ext. 22
  • Ekurhuleni at Tokyo Section Telkom-line Ivory Park
  • Ekurhuleni at Palm Ridge
  • Alexandra at Alex FM
  • Emfuleni at North west university (Sebokeng Campus)
  • Durban at Durban City Hall
  • Msunduzi at SOS Village
  • Endumeni at Sibongile Community Hall
  • Newcastle at Majuba FET
  • uMhlathuze at uNgoye
  • Ndwedwe at Our Lady of the Rosary High School
  • Umzumbe at MThwalume School
  • Ulundi at Ulundi FET college
  • Polokwane at Polokwane correctional centre
  • Modimolle at Modimolle Prison
  • Makhuduthamaga at Maila Mapitsane community hall
  • Greater Tzaneen at Letaba Estate
  • Thulamela at Matashe prison
  • Mbombela at Nelspruit Correctional Centre
  • Steve Tshwete at Nursing School/College
  • Mkhondo at Ezakheni Boarding School
  • Emthanjeni at De Aar
  • Kai Garib at Kenhardt
  • Hantam at Nieuwoudtville
  • Kgatelopele at Children’s home
  • Thembelihle at Hope Town Prison
  • Tswaing at Atamelang Community Hall
  • Tlokwe at Tlokwe Prison
  • Naledi at Setumo Primary School (Stella Village)
  • Moretele at Lebotlwane Community Hall
  • Cape Town at Salt River Community Centre
  • Cape Town at Atlantis Community Hall
  • Cape Town at Badeli Community Hall, Mfuleni
  • Cederberg at Lamberts Bay Community Hall
  • Breede Valley at Unobuntu TSC
  • Oudtshoorn at Oudtshoorn Thusong Service Centre
  • Leeu Gamka at Community Hall
  • Swellendam at Swellengrebel Hotel