Sevens World Series set to rock Port Elizabeth

3 December 2013

The third round of the HSBC Sevens World Series, the Nelson Mandela Bay Sevens, kicks off in Port Elizabeth on Saturday with hosts South Africa aiming to go one better than they did in reaching the final in Dubai this past weekend.

The Blitzbokke posted wins over Argentina, Russia, Samoa, Kenya and England before being stopped by an in-form Fiji in the final. After a fourth place finish at the Gold Coast Sevens, it was a welcome improvement for coach Neil Powell’s team and it lifted them to third in the standings, just behind New Zealand and Fiji.

In Port Elizabeth, South Africa will be in Pool B with Kenya, who are coached by former Blitzbokke coach Paul Treu, Canada and Spain.


Dubai champions Fiji face Scotland, Australia and France in Pool A, New Zealand take on Wales, Portugal and the United States in Pool C, and England play Argentina, Samoa and Zimbabwe, a team sure to be very well supported, in Pool D.

South African supporters will be able to meet the Springbok squad at the Woolworths Court in the Walmer Park Mall on Wednesday between 14:00 and 15:00.

Tickets for the Cell C Nelson Mandela Bay Sevens are available from all Computicket, Shoprite and Checkers outlets, as well as online through

The Blitzbokke’s training will take place on the B-field of the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium daily and will be open to the media, expecting for the Captain’s Run on Friday.


The action on Saturday will begin at 09:00 with the Aggreko Tag Rugby Tournament on the B and C fields at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium. Gates open at 10:00, with the first match kicking off at 11:00 and the last one starting at 19:58.

On Sunday, a Tag Rugby under-13 National Tournament will take place on the B and C fields from 09:00. Gates open at 10:00, with kick off at 11:11.

The Shield final will be played at 17:43, the Bowl final takes place at 18:06, the Plate final at 16:33, and the playoff for third at 18:58.

The draw for the Las Vegas Sevens will follow at 19:20, followed by the Cup final at 19:30 and the presentation of the trophy at 20:00.