Nomvethe SA’s Footballer of the Year

29 May 2012

Veteran striker Siyabonga Nomvethe was the big winner at South Africa’s Premier Soccer League (PSL) Awards, held at Gold Reef City in Johannesburg on Sunday evening.

He was named PSL Footballer of the Year, the Absa Player of the Season and the Players’ Player of the Season. He also won the Lesley Manyathela Golden Boot award after scoring 20 goals in the league, eight more than the next highest goal scorer.

The money from those four awards amounted to a considerable boost of R600 000 in his pocket.

Coach of the Year

Nomvethe’s coach at Moroka Swallows, Gordon Igesund, was, not surprisingly, named Coach of the Year.

Last season, when he took charge of the Birds, the club was bottom of the PSL standings, having picked up only two of a possible 27 points. They narrowly missed out on the promotion/relegation playoffs by finishing 13th in the 16-team league.

This season, Igesund’s first full one in charge of Swallows, the team finished runners-up to Orlando Pirates, just two points behind the champions.

Igesund’s record as a coach is unmatched in South Africa. He has previously led Manning Rangers, Orlando Pirates, Mamelodi Sundowns and Santos to the PSL title.

McCarthy’s awards

Another veteran striker, Benni McCarthy, picked up two awards. He was named the Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament and he also won the Absa-lutely Awesome Goal of the Season.

His Pirates’ team-mate Oupa Manyisa won the MTN8 Last Man Standing Award.

SuperSport United players received two awards, with Thabiso Nkoana bring named the Nedbank Cup Young Player of the Tournament and Ronwen Williams picking up the award of Red Hot Player of the Season.

Goalkeeping award

Sundowns’ goalkeeper Wayne Sandilands was named the Premiership Goalkeeper of the Tournament, while the Brazilians’ Nyasha Mushekwi was named the Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament.

United FC striker David Radebe won the National First Division Top Goalscorer Award, which was worth R50 000.

Victor Hlungwani was named the Referee of the Season, and Zakhele Siwela the Assistant Referee of the Season.

Would you like to use this article in your publication or on your website? See: Using SAinfo material