South Africa’s Footballer of the Year

26 May 2009

Orlando Pirates midfielder Teko Modise was crowned PSL Footballer of the Year for the second year in succession at Gold Reef City in Johannesburg on the weekend, earning the nod ahead of teammate Lucas Thwala and Golden Arrows’ Richard Henyekane.

The award was decided by the votes of the coaches of the 16 Premier Soccer League clubs. It was worth R250 000 to the Bafana Bafana ace.

Modise was also voted the Players’ Player of the Season, as well as the Orlando Pirates’ Online Player of the Year.

His classy performances in the midfield have left few questions about his abilities. The only one that remains, it seems, is: when is he going to be signed by an overseas club?

Absa Premiership Player of the Season

It was a strong showing for Pirates as defender Thwala also was honoured, securing the Absa Premiership Player of the Season Award and a cheque for R150 000.

Despite playing in the back four, Thwala led all Buccaneers’ goal scorers, with nine.

Zambian Kennedy Mweene, who plays for Free State Stars, was named Goalkeeper of the Year. He helped Stars to a superb fourth place finish in this season’s PSL as they conceded the third fewest goals in the league.

Bongani Khumalo of SuperSport United won R50 000 as the winner of the PSL Hot Young Player of the Year. His performances, as part of the defence that conceded the second fewest goals in the season, was recognised by Bafana Bafana coach Joel Santana when he included Khumalo in the South African Confederations Cup squad.

Not surprisingly, Gavin Hunt was named Coach of the Season after leading SuperSport to the club’s second PSL title in succession.

Golden Boot

Richard Henyekane, after being shockingly excluded from the Confederations Cup squad, was rewarded for his superb season in attack for Golden Arrows. His 19 goals won him the Lesley Mayathela Golden Boot Award and R75 000.

Moroka Swallows’ Ryan Botha was awarded R50 000 for the Absa-lutely Awesome Goal of the season, which he scored against Bloemfontein Celtic.

The Chairman’s Award, decided by Irvin Khoza, the chairman of the PSL, was shared by two veterans, goalkeeper Andre Arendse and defender John Maduka, who both pocketed R50 000. The award is presented to players who have made an excellent contribution to the game, and who serve as good role models.

A number of awards from knockout competitions were also made. The Player of the Tournament for the Telkom Knockout Cup went to Franklyn Cale of the champions, Ajax Cape Town. He was named the winner of the award, worth R200 000, ahead of Urban Warriors’ striker Mabhudi Khenyeza and Orlando Pirates’ Benson Mhlongo.

Wafa Wafa

A player from the MTN 8 champions won MTN’s Last Man Standing Awarding for the Wafa Wafa competition. Bloemfontein Celtic’s Gert Schwalkwyk, who was with Kaizer Chiefs at the time, took home R150 000.

Moroka Swallows captured the Nedbank Cup on the weekend, defeating Pretoria University 1-0 in the final. Two awards from the competition were presented: the Player of the Tournament and the Most Promising Player of the Tournament.

This time around it was the runners-up who scooped the honours. Mthokozisi Yende of the First Division side was named Player of the Year, worth R100 000, while Andile Jali was recognised as the Most Promising Player of the Tournament and received R25 000.

Jerome Damon was named the Referee of the Season, while Enock Molefe picked up the Assistant Referee of the Season Award for the second year in a row.

The Super Stadium, home ground to PSL champions SuperSport United, was named the Best Playing Surface of the Season.

Would you like to use this article in your publication or on your website? See: Using SAinfo material