Gould named SA’s footballer of the year

24 May 2010

SuperSport United defender Morgan Gould was named South Africa’s Premier Soccer League Player of the Year at a function at the State Theatre in Pretoria on Sunday evening.

He was up against Katlego Mphela and Elias Pelembe, both of Mamelodi Sundowns, for the title, which was voted on by the coaches of the 16 PSL clubs. They unanimously agreed that Gould was choice. It was worth R250 000 to the defender.

“Tonight is not only a celebration of player excellence, but also the achievement of the PSL this season,” PSL CEO Kjetil Siem said.

‘Extremely happy’

“It was an extremely challenging season, but I’m extremely happy at what we have achieved on and off the field.”

“Congratulations to all the winners and nominees this evening. You certainly deserve all the accolades,” he added.

Another player from SuperSport United, Daine Klate, picked up the Absa Premiership Player of the Season award, while Mphela was named the Absa Premiership Players Player of the Season.

Coach of the season

The Absa Premiership Coach of the Season award, not surprisingly, went to SuperSport United’s Gavin Hunt who, despite losing a number of players from his title-winning side of last season, led Matsatsantsa to their third league title in succession.

After leading Orlando Pirates to the best defensive record in the league, Moneeb Josephs won the Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season.

Mamelodi Sundowns captured another award when defender Siyanda Xulu was named the Absa Red Hot Young Player.

Goal of the season

The Absa-lutley Awesome Goal of the Season went to Maritzburg United’s Namibian international Rudolf Bester for his strike against Kaizer Chiefs on 12 September last year.

Katlego Mphela picked up a second award, one which he had long ago secured when he finished as the top goalscorer in the PSL: the Absa Premiership Top Goalscorer.

Kaizer Chiefs claimed the Telkom Knockout Cup and their goalkeeper Arthur Baartman, who plays behind Bafana Bafana incumbent Itumeleng Khune, was honoured with the Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament gong.

Nedbank Cup awards

Midfielder Matthew Pattison won another award for Sundowns when he was named the Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament. Patrick Phungwayo of Nedbank Cup champions Bidvest Wits grabbed was named the tournament’s Most Promising Player.

Golden Arrows won their first silverware when they crushed Ajax Cape Town 6-0 in the final of the MTN 8 and thus it was not a surprise when one of Arrows’ players won the MTN8 Player of the Tournament Award, with Njabulo Manqana receiving it.

SuperSport United were presented with the Chairman’s Award by PSL chairman Irvin Khoza.

Award Winners and Nominees

PSL Player of the Year

  • Morgan Gould – winner – R250 000
  • Elias Pelembe
  • Katlego Mphela
  • Chairman’s Award

  • SuperSport United – R100 000
  • Absa Premiership Player of the Season

  • Daine Klate – Winner – R150 000
  • Morgan Gould
  • Katlego Mphela
  • Absa Premiership Players Player of the Season

  • Katlego Mphela – Winner – R150 000
  • Elias Pelembe
  • Daine Klate
  • Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season

  • Moeneeb Josephs – winner – R50 000
  • Tshepo Motsoeneng
  • Emile Baron
  • Absa Premiership Coach of the Season

  • Gavin Hunt – winner – R75 000
  • Boebie Solomons
  • Hristo Stoichkov
  • Absa Red Hot Young Player

  • Siyanda Xulu – winner – R50 000
  • Andile Jali
  • Thandani Ntshumayelo
  • Absa-lutley Awesome Goal of the Season

  • Rudolf Bester – winner – R50 000
  • Tlou Segolela
  • Vinent Khobola
  • Absa Premiership Top Goalscorer

  • Katlego Mphela – winner – R50 000
  • Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament

  • Arthur Baartman – winner – R200 000
  • Mandla Masango
  • Dipsey Selolwane
  • MTN8 Player of the Tournament

  • Njabulo Manqana – winner – R150 000
  • Dispy Selolwane
  • Richard Henyekane
  • Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament

  • Matthew Pattison – winner – R100 000
  • Pere Arewariyai
  • Patrick Phungwayo
  • Nedbank Cup Most Promising Player

  • Patrick Phungwayo – winner – R25 000
  • Simangeliso Biyela
  • Ndumiso Mabena
  • Referee of the Season

  • Buyile Gqubule – winner – R50 000
  • Jerome Damon
  • Daniel Bennett
  • Assistant Referee of the Season

  • Geronimo Piedt – winner – R40 000
  • Toko Malebo
  • Enoch Molefe
  • National First Division Top Goalscorer

  • Mulondo Sikhiwhivilu and Tebogo Masahaba – R25 000 each
  • SAinfo reporter and PSL