Amla up for ICC Cricketer of the Year

3 December 2013

Hashim Amla has been nominated for the International Cricket Council’s (ICC’s) Cricketer of the Year award, it was announced on Tuesday. He also features in the ICC’s test and ODI teams of the year.

At the South African Cricket Awards in September, Amla was named Cricketer of the Year, Test Cricketer of the Year and SA Fan’s Player of the Year, and claimed the KFC “So Good” award for his unbeaten 311 against England last year.

The ICC Awards shortlist was announced in Mumbai on Tuesday by ICC CEO Dave Richardson. The Awards will be presented as a television show on 14 December.

Three other South Africans – AB de Villiers, Dale Steyn and Vernon Philander – feature in the Test Team of the Year along with Amla. Steyn was named in the team for a sixth time in succession, while it was De Villiers’ fifth time running in the team, Amla’s fourth, and the second in a row for Philander. De Villiers is also part of the ODI Team of the Year.

Selection panel

The selection panel includes South African legend Graeme Pollock, Anil, Kumble, Waqar Younis, Alec Stewart and Catherine Campbell.

Amla is up against England’s James Anderson and Alastair Cook, Australia’s Michael Clarke, India’s MS Dhoni and Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara for the Cricketer of the Year award.

He was also nominated for the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year Award and will face fellow Protea Dale Steyn, Anderson, Clarke, and India’s Ravi Ashwin and Cheteshwar Pujara for the honour.

South African test series performances

South Africa is ranked number one among test playing nations and since November 2012 has beaten Australia in Australia, whitewashed New Zealand and Pakistan in South Africa, and drawn with Pakistan in the UAE in test series.

Their results in 10 tests include four victories by an innings, as well as 309 run defeat of Australia and a 221 run over Pakistan. De Villiers and Amla are ranked one and two in the test batting rankings, while Steyn and Philander are one and two among test bowlers.

De Villiers is also a finalist for the LG People’s Award, which is done through internet voting. The other finalists are Cook, Clarke, Dhoni and Virat Kohli.

Women’s Cricketer of the Year

Dane van Niekerk earned a nomination for the ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year Award, with England’s Charlotte Edwards and Anya Shrubsole, New Zealand’s Suzie Bates, Australia’s Meg Lanning and Stefanie Taylor of the West Indies also cracking the nod.

Marais Erasmus was one of 12 nominees for Umpire of the Year.

ICC Test Team of the Year

Alastair Cook (Eng, captain), Cheteshwar Pujara (Ind), Hashim Amla (SA), Michael Clarke (Aus), Michael Hussey (Aus), AB de Villiers (SA), MS Dhoni (Ind – wicketkeeper), Graeme Swann (Eng), Dale Steyn (SA), James Anderson (Eng), Vernon Philander (SA), 12th Man: Ravichandran Ashwin (Ind)

ICC ODI Team of the Year

Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL), Shikhar Dhawan (Ind), Hashim Amla (SA), Kumar Sangakkara (SL), AB de Villiers (SA), MS Dhoni (Ind, captain and wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja (Ind), Saeed Ajmal (Pak), Mitchell Starc (Aus), James Anderson (Eng), Lasith Malinga (SL), 12th Man: Mitchell McClenaghan (NZ)