SA targets 43 medals at Commonwealth Games

13 June 2014

South Africa is targeting at least 43 medals at this year’s Commonwealth Games in Glasgow, the SA Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (Sascoc) said at this week’s announcement of an initial squad of 155 athletes, spread across 15 sporting codes, to contest the event.

Addressing a media briefing in Johannesburg on Wednesday, Sascoc president Gideon Sam said the committee wanted South Africa to place within the top five countries on the medals table in Glasgow. The Games start on 23 July and run through to 3 August.

“We are not on the same level with Australia yet – one down; we are not at the level of Canada – two down; we battle with England – three down. Therefore, we will be contesting for the fifth spot with India and the home team, Scotland,” Sam reckoned.

“In terms of our projection, we are saying if we put on the table 15 gold medals, 12 silver medals and 16 bronze, that will take us to 43 medals, that’s what we are going for now. “

Fifth in New Delhi

At the previous Commonwealth Games in New Delhi, India, four years ago, Team South Africa won 33 medals and finished fifth on the medals table with 12 gold, 11 silver and 10 bronze medals.

“The majority of the team are within the top five rankings of the Commonwealth and that is very reassuring for us,” Sam said, adding that those rankings also gave him confidence that South Africa would be able to send a strong team to the Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil in 2016.

“Glasgow is going to be tough but also great fun,” he said. “Our athletes will gain tremendously from these Games and, judging by the teams already announced by both Australia and Canada, it is not going to be a walk in the park for any country.”

Sporting codes

Sporting codes that Team South Africa will contest at the Games include aquatics (including para-swimming), athletics (including para-athletics), badminton, boxing, cycling, gymnastics, hockey, judo, lawn bowls, netball, para-powerlifting, rugby sevens, shooting, triathlon, weightlifting and wrestling.

While the team announced by Sam accommodated promising juniors, a surprise omission was that of 800 metres runner Caster Semenya.

Bryan Habana, who is closing in on 100 test caps for the Springboks, will be part of South Africa’s rugby sevens team at the Games.

Olympic gold medallists

The swimming squad includes Roland Schoeman a veteran of four Olympic Games, and 2012 Olympic gold medallists Cameron van der Burgh and Chad le Clos.

The track and field squad includes Sunette Viljoen, who will be aiming for her third consecutive Commonwealth Games gold in the women’s javelin, LJ van Zyl, winner of the 400m hurdles in 2006 and runner-up in 2010, and Simon Magakwe, who earlier this year set a South African 100 metres record of 9.98 seconds.

Richard Murray, who finished second in the ITU World Triathlon Series in London at the beginning of the month, is currently ranked fourth in the world and will be one to watch out for in Glasgow.

Returning gold medal winners

The bowls team includes Gerry Baker, who won gold in the pairs with Shaun Addinall in Delhi four years ago, and the trips gold medal winning team of Tracy-Lee Botha, Susan Nel and Susanna Steyn.

The men’s and women’s hockey squads, which are currently in action at the Hockey World Cup in the Hague, are expected to be announced at a later date.

Money for medals

Sam said athletes who win gold medals will also receive R40 000, silver medallists will be rewarded with R20 000, and bronze medal winners will be paid R7 500.

The coaches of gold medallists will receive R10 000, while R5 000 will be paid out for silver medallists and R2 500 for bronze medallists.

This year’s Commonwealth Games will be contested by 70 nations.



Cameron van der Burgh, Chad le Clos, Bradley Tandy, Dylan Bosch, Myles Brown, Sebastien Rousseau, Roland Schoeman, Leith Shankland, Caydon Muller, Clayton Jimmie, Calvyn Justus, Darren Murray, Tara-lynn Nicholas, Karin Prinsloo, Erin Gallagher, Trudi Maree, Marne Erasmus, Rene Warnes, Marlies Ross, Jessica Ashley- Cooper

Management: Shawn Adriaanse (manager), Coaches: Graham Hill, Cedric Finch, Igor Omeltchenko, Wayne Riddin


Craig Groenewald

Manager/coach: Theo Verster


Simon Magakwe, Akani Simbine, Wayde van Niekerk, Andre Olivier, Johan Cronje, LJ van Zyl, Cornel Fredericks, Zarck Visser, Ruswahl Samaai, Khotso Mokoena, Orazio Cremona, Rocco van Rooyen, Willem Coertzen, Fredriech Pretorius, Sunette Viljoen, Wenda Nel, Hendrico Bruintjies, Shawn De Jager, Victor Hogan, Anaso Jobodwana

Management: Motlatsi Keikabile, Coaches: Brandon Du Plessis, CarlPreller

Para-athletics Fanie van der Merwe, Charl du Toit, Andrea Dalle Ave, Juanelie Meijer, Lean Simon

Management: Karin le Roux (Manager/coach), Coach: Suzanne Ferreira


Willem Viljoen, Andries Malan, Jacob Maliekal, Prakash Vijaynath, Jennifer Fry, Sandra le Grange, Elsie de Villiers

Management: Stewart Carson (Manager/Coach)


Ayabonga Sonjica, Thulani Mbenge, Siphiwe Lusizi, Luvuyo Sizani, Paul Schafer, Pathiswa Thingana

Management: Nkosinathi Hlatshwayo (coach), Johan Prinsloo (Manager/Coach)


Ashleigh Moolman Pasio, Cherise Stander, Heidi Dalton, Lise Olivier, Anriette Schoeman, Andri Coetzee, Bernard Esterhuizen, Nolan Hoffman, Evan Carstens, Theuns vd Bank, Kellan Gouveris, Oupa Maluleke, Morne Van Niekerk, Mariske Strauss, Phillip Buys

Management: Brett Coates (manager/MTB coach), Elrick Kulsen (Coach/track), Dean Edwards (coach/road/time trial), Ruan Lochner (mechanic)


Kirsten Beckett, Claudia Cummins, Bianca Mann, Cameron MacKenzie, Tiaan Grobler, Siphamandla Ngcobo, Siphesihle Biyase, Grace Legote, Aimee van Rooyen, Julene van Rooyen

Management: Ilse Laing (Manager/coach), Coaches: Tatiana Lavrentchouk-Vizer , Jesse Abraham Kitzen-Abelson


Men’s and women’s sides to be announced after completion of the World Cup in the Netherlands


Daniel le Grange, Siyabulela Mabulu, Jacques van Zyl, Zack Piontek, Tobie Snyman, Sinothando Mva

Management: Ina van den Heever, (Manager), Vintcent Redpath (Coach)


Colleen Piketh, Tracy-Lee Botha, Susanna Nel, Susanna Steyn, Esme Steyn, Robert Donnelly, Gerald Baker, Josephus Jacobs, Jason Evans, Mmboniseni Neluonde

Para-bowls Gyndolene Nel, Hermanus Scholtz, Geoffrey Newcombe, Johanna van Rooyen, Derrick Lobban, Roger Hagerty, Deon van de Vyver.

Management: Jessica Henderson (Manager), Martinus Fraser (Coach),Brian Sneag (Manager/para-bowls)


Adele Niemand, Bongiwe Msomi, Chrisna Bootha, Erin Burger, Lenize Potgieter, Karla Mostert, Kefiloe Tsotsetsi, Maryka Holtzhausen, Melissa Myburgh, Precious Mthembu, Zanele Mdodana, Zanele Vimbela

Management: Kitiana Lekalakala (Manager), Coaches: Elizabeth Kotze (coach), Ilze Pheiffer


Chantell Stierman

Management; Jan Flemming (Manager/Coach)


Chris Dry, Schalk Brits, Frankie Horne, Kyle Brown, Branco du Preez, Cheslin Kolbe, Justin Geduld, Cecil Afrika, Bryan Habana, Seabelo Senatla, Cornal Hendricks, Warren Whitley

Management: Ashley Evert (Manager), Coaches: Neil Powell, Allan Temple Jones


Alexander Coetzee, Johannes du Toit, Esmari van Reenen

Management: Bernand de Beer (Manager /Coach)


Richard Murray, Henri Schoeman, Wian Sullwald, Kate Roberts, Gillian Sanders

Manager: Lindsey Parry (Manager/Coach)


Portia Vries, Mona Pretorius, Anrich Phillips, Greg Shushu, Gordon Shaw

Management: Aveenash Pandoo (Manager/Coach)


Bokang Masunyane, Marno Plaatjes, Terry van Rensburg, Gerald Meyer, Armando Hietbrink, Adem Digovich, Mpho Madi, Jeannie-Marie Coetzer, Norma Gordon, Zumicke Geringer, Refilwe Molongwane

Management: Nico Coetzee (Manager/Coach), Esta van Zyl (Coach)

SAinfo reporter and