Ntini: SA Player of the Year 2005

20 May 2005

Makhaya Ntini was recognised for his performances for South Africa over the past year when he was named the 2005 Mutual and Federal SA Cricketer of the Year on Wednesday.

Ntini bagged 58 wickets in 14 tests, including a South African record 13 for 132 against the West Indies in the second test, when he knocked over 6 for 95 and then devastated the islanders’ second innings with a haul of 7 for 37.

The Border paceman’s fine performances lifted him to a career-high fourth in the LG ICC test bowling rankings.

Hat-trick of awards
Ntini also picked up the Castle Lager/MTN Test Cricketer of the Year award, and completed an awards hat-trick with an important one, the SA Players’ Player of the Year award.

Receiving the Player of the Year award, Ntini thanked bowling coach Vincent Barnes and Proteas’ coach Ray Jennings for helping him, mentioning also Proteas’ fitness coach Adrian le Roux, physiotherapist Shane Jabaar, manager Goolam Rajah, and teammates Andre Nel, Herschelle Gibbs, Mark Boucher and Graeme Smith.

Ntini didn’t just excel in the longer form of the game. He was South Africa’s highest wicket taker in one-day internationals, dismissing 34 batsmen.

One-day award for Smith
However, the Standard Bank ODI Cricketer of the Year Award went to SA captain Graeme Smith. He scored 840 runs in 19 matches, including four centuries. He also led the national side to series victories over England, Zimbabwe and the West Indies.

Smith’s opening partner, AB de Villiers, who tallied 967 runs in 11 tests in his first season in the international game, was named SA Newcomer of the Year.

Record-breaking Kallis
Last year’s Player of the Year, Jacques Kallis, was named the Supersport Fans Cricketer of the Year.

During the course of the season Kallis became SA’s all-time leading run scorer in test cricket, moving his total up to 7 337 at an outstanding average of 56.87 by the completion of the five-test series against the West Indies.

Kallis also eclipsed Gary Kirsten’s record for the number of test centuries scored, taking his tally to 22 against the Caribbean side, finishing the season rated the number one batsman on the LG ICC test batting ratings.

Lance Klusener, out of favour with the selectors, showed that he would not let South Africa down if given another run in the national team, claiming the Supersport Series Cricketer of the Year award for the second year in succession.

Alicia Smith took the SA Women’s Cricketer of the Year award.




  • ODI Cricketer of the Year: Graeme Smith
  • Test Cricketer of the Year: Makhaya Ntini
  • Newcomer of the Year: AB de Villiers
  • Player’s Player of the Year: Makhaya Ntini
  • Fans Cricketer of the Year: Jacques Kallis
  • SA Cricketer of the Year: Makhaya Ntini




  • Standard Bank Cup Cricketer of the Year: Justin Kemp
  • Standard Bank Pro20 Cricketer of the Year: Tyron Henderson
  • SuperSport Series Cricketer of the Year: Lance Klusener
  • Domestic Player’s Player of the Year: Davey Jacobs




  • Umpire of the Year: Brian Jerling
  • Groundsman of the Year: Chris Scott, Wanderers
  • Scorers Assistant of the Year: Kwazulu Natal
  • Coach of the Year: Corrie van Zyl, Eagles
    Using SAinfo material Want to use this article in your publication or on your website?
    See: Using SAinfo material