32 teams, 32 World Cup base camps

25 February 2010

Fifa has released a list of base camps for the 32 teams participating in the 2010 World Cup, with hosts Bafana Bafana to be based at the Southern Sun Grayston Hotel and to train at Sandown High School in Johannesburg.

Fourteen other teams will be in Gauteng province along with Bafana Bafana, while six teams will be based in KwaZulu-Natal, four in the Western Cape, three in North West province and one each in Mpumalanga, the Eastern Cape and the Northern Cape.

Other teams that will be based in and around Johannesburg include Honduras at the Indaba Hotel, Mexico at Thaba ya Batswana, Netherlands at the Hilton Sandton, North Korea at the Protea Hotel Midrand, Serbia at the Sunnyside Park Hotel, and Slovenia at the Hyde Park Southern Sun.

Teams to be based around Pretoria include Argentina, at the High Performance Centre, Germany at the Velmore Hotel in Centurion, Italy at the Leriba Lodge outside Pretoria, Slovakia at the Villas Luxury Suite Hotel, and the United States at the Irene Country Lodge.

Australia will be based at the Kloofzicht Lodge near Muldersdrift on the West Rand, New Zealand at Serengeti Estate near OR Tambo International Airport, and Switzerland at the Emerald Resort and Casino in Vanderbijlpark, to the south of Johannesburg.

Those that will be based in KwaZulu-Natal province include Algeria at the Monduzur in San Lameer, Cameroon at the Oyster Box in Umhlanga, Greece at the Beverly Hills Hotel at Umhlanga Rocks, Ivory Coast at the Riverside Hotel and Spa in Durban, Nigeria at the Hampshire in Durban, Paraguay at Woodridge Country Estate in the Midlands, and Portugal at the Valley Lodge in Hillcrest.

The Western Cape will play host to Brazil at the Fairway in Cape Town, Denmark at the Simola Hotel Country Club in Knysna, France at the Pezula Resort Hotel and Spa in Knysna, and Japan at the Fancourt Hotel and Country Club outside George.

Teams that will be based in North West province include England at the Bafokeng Sports Campus in Rustenburg, Spain at North West University campus in Potchefstroom, and South Korea at the Hunters Rest Hotel in Rustenburg.

Provinces that will host only a single team include Mpumalanga, with Chile based at the Ingwenyama Conference Centre; the Eastern Cape, with Ghana based at Rhoode Valley; and the Northern Cape, with Uruguay based at the Protea Hotel Kimberley.

Fifa says the list is subject to change, as teams could still move their base camps.

SAinfo reporter and BuaNews

Would you like to use this article in your publication or on your website?
See: Using SAinfo material