Zain extends ‘One Network’ to SA

7 June 2010

Pan-African mobile operator Zain has struck a deal with Cell C that will see the expansion of the Kuwait-based company’s “One Network” – a service that allows its users to go to other countries within the network and still pay local rates – to South Africa.

The One Network borderless mobile phone platform enables pre-paid and post-paid Zain customers, when travelling to another One Network partner country, to be treated as local customer in terms of pricing, while retaining home country service functionalities.

Now, in South Africa, Zain customers will be able to make calls, send text messages and access the internet (use data) at local rates, and receive incoming calls at a minimal charge.

“We have reached a significant milestone by our presence in South Africa, the region’s superpower, which this summer will be the focal point of sporting world,” Zain Africa CEO Chris Gabriel said in a statement last week.

No pre-registration

There is no need for customers to pre-register, no roaming deposits, and no complicated dialling formats. As in any other One Network country, Zain customers in South Africa will be able to recharge their pre-paid lines with locally purchased top-up cards.

“Simplicity is one of the core values of Cell C, and One Network makes roaming a lot simpler for our Zain customers,” said Cell C CEO Lars Reichelt. “We are happy to enable Zain visitors to South Africa to make use of our network at prices similar to what local customers would pay.”

One Network

Since its introduction in East Africa in September 2006 and its cross-continent expansion thereafter, One Network has been recognised by the international mobile industry for setting new standards in cross-border mobile communication.

Over 40-million Zain users from 15 countries across the continent will benefit from the deal with Cell C. These include Burkina Faso, Chad, Congo Republic, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Gabon, Ghana, Kenya, Malawi, Madagascar, Niger, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia.

SAinfo reporter

Would you like to use this article in your publication or on your website? See: Using SAinfo material