Full text of cabinet appointment

President Jacob Zuma delivering his
inauguration speech at the Union Buildings
in Pretoria on Saturday 9 May 2009.
(Image: BuaNews)

The following is the full text of President Jacob Zuma’s statement on the appointment of South Africa’s new cabinet on 10 May 2009.

Members of the media,

Good afternoon and thank you for joining us.

We have since the launch of the ANC Manifesto indicated the type of new administration we envisaged in terms of size, shape and political focus.

We went into an intensive process through the ANC’s National Executive Committee to discuss the type of government structure that would best serve our goals. We wanted a structure that would enable us to achieve visible and tangible socio-economic development within the next five years.

It should be a structure which would enable us to effectively implement our policies.

The structure of Cabinet and national departments has therefore been re-organised to achieve better alignment between the structure, our electoral mandate as per our election Manifesto, and the developmental challenges that need to receive immediate attention from government.

In summary, some of the changes in the structure of government are the following:

Following extensive research on international models on how governments in other parts of the world plan and monitor performance, we have decided to establish a National Planning Commission which will be based in the Presidency.

The NPC will be responsible for strategic planning for the country to ensure one National Plan to which all spheres of government would adhere.

This would enable us to take a more comprehensive view of socio-economic development in the country.

We have also created a monitoring and evaluation competency in the Presidency, to monitor and evaluate the performance of government in all three spheres.

There will therefore be two Ministers in the Presidency, one responsible for the NPC and the other for Monitoring and Evaluation as well as administration in the Presidency.

Other changes are the following:

  • The Department of Minerals and Energy will be split into two separate departments of Mining and of Energy, each with a Minister
  • The Department of Education will be split into separate Ministries, one for Basic Education and the other for Higher Education and Training.
  • The Department of Housing will be called the Department of Human Settlements to take on a more holistic focus
  • There will be a new department of Rural Development and Land Affairs, which are part of our key priorities for the next five years
  • The Department of Water affairs and Forestry becomes the Department of Water and Environmental Affairs.
  • A new Department of Economic Development has been established to focus on economic policymaking. The implementation functions will remain with the Department of Trade and Industry
  • A new department of Tourism has been created
  • Agriculture becomes Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry
  • The Department of Provincial and Local Government becomes Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs.
  • A new Ministry has been created for Women, Youth, Children and People with Disability, to emphasise the need for equity and access to development opportunities for the vulnerable groups in our society.

The Cabinet that will fulfill our objectives is composed as follows:

The Deputy President of the Republic of South Africa will be Mr Kgalema Petros Motlanthe.

The rest of Cabinet in alphabetical order is as follows:

1. Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries
Minister: Tina Joemat-Peterson
Deputy Minister: Dr Pieter Mulder

2. Arts and Culture
Minister: Lulu Xingwana
Deputy Minister: Paul Mashatile

3. Basic Education
Minister: Angie Motshekga
Deputy Minister: Enver Surty

4. Communications
Minister: Siphiwe Nyanda
Deputy Minister: Dina Pule

5. Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs
Minister: Sicelo Shiceka
Deputy Minister: Yunus Carrim

6. Correctional Services
Minister: Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula
Deputy Minister: Hlengiwe Mkhize

7. Defence and Military Veterans
Minister: Lindiwe Sisulu
Deputy Minister: Thabang Makwetla

8. Economic Development
Minister: Ebrahim Patel
Deputy Minister: Gwen Mahlangu-Nkabinde

9. Energy
Minister: Dipuo Peters

10. Finance
Minister: Pravin Gordhan
Deputy Minister: Nhlanhla Nene

11. Health
Minister: Dr Aaron Motsoaledi
Deputy Minister: Dr Molefi Sefularo

12. Higher Education and Training
Minister: Dr Blade Nzimande

13. Home Affairs
Minister: Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma
Deputy Minister: Malusi Gigaba

14. Human Settlements
Minister: Tokyo Sexwale
Deputy Minister: Zou Kota

15. International Relations and Cooperation
Minister: Maite Nkoana-Mashabane
Deputy Minister (1): Ebrahim Ismail Ebrahim
Deputy Minister (2): Sue van der Merwe

16. Justice and Constitutional Development
Minister: Jeff Radebe
Deputy Minister: Andries Nel

17. Labour
Minister: Membathisi Mdladlana

18. Mining
Minister: Susan Shabangu

19. Police
Minister: Nathi Mthethwa
Deputy Minister: Fikile Mbalula

20. Public Enterprises
Minister: Barbara Hogan
Deputy Minister: Enoch Godongwana

21. Public Service and Administration
Minister: Richard Baloyi
Deputy Minister: Roy Padayachie

22. Public Works
Minister: Geoff Doidge
Deputy Minister: Hendrietta Bogopane-Zulu

23. Rural Development and Land Reform
Minister: Gugile Nkwinti
Deputy Minister: Dr Joe Phaahla

24. Science and Technology
Minister: Naledi Pandor
Deputy Minister: Derek Hanekom

25. Social Development
Minister: Edna Molewa
Deputy Minister: Bathabile Dlamini

26. Sport and Recreation
Minister: Makhenkesi Stofile
Deputy Minister: Gert Oosthuizen

27. State Security
Minister: Siyabonga Cwele

28. Minister in The Presidency (1)
National Planning Commission: Trevor Manuel

29. Minister in The Presidency (2)
Performance Monitoring and Evaluation as well as Administration in the Presidency: Collins Chabane

30. Tourism
Minister: Marthinus van Schalkwyk
Deputy: Thozile Xasa

31. Trade and Industry
Minister: Rob Davies
Deputy Minister (1): Thandi Tobias
Deputy Minister (2): Maria Ntuli

32. Transport
Minister: Sbusiso Joel Ndebele
Deputy Minister: Jeremy Cronin

33. Water and Environmental  Affairs
Minister: Buyelwa Sonjica
Deputy Minister: Rejoice Mabhudafhasi

34. Women, Youth, Children and People with Disabilities
Minister: Noluthando Mayende-Sibiya

We stated clearly during the campaign that we want an efficient, caring and effective administration, which will be accessible and responsive to the needs of the people.

We reiterate that we will not tolerate laziness and incompetence, and that we will emphasise excellence and achievement from the Cabinet and the public service.

With these objectives in mind, I am confident that the new structure of government will enable the state machinery to speed up service delivery.

Civil servants will not lose their jobs as a result of these changes. This is a matter of principle in terms of the country’s labour relations dispensation.

I however want to stress to our public servants that the era of hard work has begun. Public servants who do their work diligently and efficiently have nothing to worry about.

I wish the new team all the best with their responsibilities.

We request the South African public and all key sectors of our society to support them in their national service.

Let me also take this opportunity to wish all South African mothers well on Mother’s Day today.

Mothers are the backbones of our families, communities and our nation.

We truly appreciate their role in our society, in both the public sphere and within families.

I thank you.